2013 Fifa Ballon d’Or goes to CR7

Cristiano Ronaldo

Fans throughout the world rejoiced as Cristiano Ronaldo won the 2013 Fifa BAllon d’Or after being voted as the world’s best player on Monday. And with this win, Lionel Messi’s amazing streak of emerging as the World’s best player has come to a halt this time.

Though he wasn’t much successful to win any major titles with Real Madrid last season, immense goal scoring prowess was the prime reason behind him being awarded with the title ahead of Messi, winner for the last four consecutive years and French midfielder Frank Ribery.

It was a day of emotion for the Portugese as it became quite tough for him to hide how much it meant to him after the announcement  was made.

“Thank you to everyone, my team mates, the national team and my family, to everyone here,” the Portugal and Real Madrid forward said, almost getting choked with emotion after the trophy was handed over to him. “I can’t speak,” added Ronaldo, shadowed for three of the last four years by his great rival Messi, before he broke down in tears that showed just how important it was for the winger getting his hands on the trophy again.

In the once-in-a-year event, Jupp Heynckes has been named as coach of the year for the first time after he successfully leaded Bayern Munich to an unprecedented Bundesliga, Cup and Champions League treble, thus ending a 48-year career as player and coach on a glorious note.The Afghanistan Football Federation was awarded with the Fair Play award for staging its first home game after 10 years whereas Sweden striker Zlatan Ibrahimovic was crowned with the Ferenc Puskas award for the best goal of the year.

But inspite of so many awards going to different ones, the Fifa BAllon d’Or is the centre of attraction as the tussle between the two present football greats seems to intensify now for the title of this year and only time will say who gets pass the other.

· · ·

Related Articles & Comments

Popular tags

AAP arvind kejriwal barclays premier league BJP bollywood chelsea congress David Moyes FIFA World Cup fifa world cup 2014 football icc world t20 2014 IPL IPL 14 Lok Sabha polls Manchester United MS Dhoni narendra modi rahul gandhi virat kohli