Indian Super League owners declared; Sachin, Sourav win bids

Sachin bags the Kochi franchisee!

Sachin bags the Kochi franchisee!

The IMG Reliance initiative of Indian Super League alongwith the All India Football Federation has finally come up with the names of the owners after having evaluated their bids earlier yesterday. The Indian Super League owners list is a star-studded one with prominent cricketers and Bollywood actors made their move to acquire the eight franchisees set to participate in the inaugural edition of the Indian Super League, a football contest modelled on the Indian Premier League.

One of the greatest sportsmen to have represented India, Sachin Tendulkar, has bagged the ownership of the Kochi franchisee alongwith PVP ventures adding much more star value to the event due to kick-off in September later this year. Former Indian cricket team captain, Sourav Ganguly has also won his bid to won the Kolkata franchisee alongwith Harsh Neotia, Siddharth Goenka and yes, Atletico Madrid.

With the involvement of a club as big as Atletico, who recently edged past Barcelona to reach the semi-finals of the Champions League, one would like to believe that the Kolkata team look to be in the safest hands. Bollywood stars Ranbir Kapoor and Salman Khan have also won their respective bids for Mumbai and Pune, having teamed up with Bimal Parekh and Wadhwan group respectively.

Former brand ambassador of the I-League, John Abraham who also starred in the movie Goal, has bagged the ownership rights of the Guwahati franchisee alongwith Lajong FC. The entire Indian Super League owners list are given below.

Sun Group (Bengaluru)
Sameer Manchanda led Den Network (Delhi)
Venugopal Dhoot, Dattaraj Salgaocar and Shrinivas V. Dempo (Goa),
John Abraham & Shillong Lajong (Guwahati),
Sachin Tendulkar & PVP Ventures (Kochi),
Sourav Ganguly, Harshavardhan Neotia, Atletico Madrid, Sanjeev Goenka, Utsav Parekh (Kolkata),
Ranbir Kapoor and Bimal Parekh (Mumbai)
Salman Khan together with Kapil Wadhawan and Dheeraj Wadhawan of the Wadhawan Group (Pune)

Related Articles & Comments

Popular tags

AAP arvind kejriwal barclays premier league BJP bollywood chelsea congress David Moyes FIFA World Cup fifa world cup 2014 football icc world t20 2014 IPL IPL 14 Lok Sabha polls Manchester United MS Dhoni narendra modi rahul gandhi virat kohli